NYIT's Respaut and Sanchez Gonzalez Highlight Women's Tennis All-Conference Awards

CENTRAL ISLIP, N.Y. (Oct. 25, 2013) - Junior Celia Respaut (Saint Denis, Reunion Island) from New York Institute of Technology has been named the ECC Women's Tennis Player of Year, while teammate Claudia Sanchez Gonzalez (Malaga, Spain) took home the Rookie of the Year honor. The awards were selected by the conference's coaches.

Respaut has been dominant in her first season at NYIT. In 15 matches, she has posted a 14-1 overall record, a flawless 8-0 record at No. 1 singles, and an unbeaten 5-0 mark in ECC play. Respaut also became the third straight Bear to capture the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) East Region "A" Singles Tournament to advance to the USTA/ITA Small College National Championship. At the National Championship, she defeated Zsofia Lanstiak of Lewis to advance to the semifinals, where she fell to eventual champion, Valentine Confalonieri of Lynn. This marks her only loss to date. Respaut has also excelled at doubles, recording an 11-1 mark with partners Gabriela Siembab (Chrzanow, Poland) and Madalina Florea (Galati, Romania).
Respaut's teammate, Sanchez Gonzalez has been almost as dominant for NYIT. She currently holds a 12-1 record and is undefeated in match play at 10-0 (4-0 at No.1, 6-0 at No. 2). Her lone singles loss on the season came in the ITA East Regional Tournament to teammate and doubles partner, Sara Burinato (Barcelona, Spain). As with Respaut, Sanchez Gonzalez has been a standout in doubles too, coming away victorious in 13 of 15 matches.
Alan Nagel of Queens College has been tabbed as the 2013 ECC Women's Tennis Coach of the Year by his peers. In his 35th season leading the Knights, Nagel led the squad to the second seed in the ECC Women's Tennis Championship and a 10-1 record in dual matches. This is the ninth time in his career that Nagel has been named the conference's Coach of the Year
2013 ECC Women's Tennis All-Conference
First Team
Sara Burinato, Jr., NYIT
Aylin Mehter, Gr., Queens
Jessica Nunez, Sr., District of Columbia
Yevgeniya Plevako, Jr., Queens
Celia Respaut, Jr., NYIT
Claudia Sanchez Gonzalez, Fr., NYIT
Second Team
Melanie Benyadi, Fr., NYIT
Lucie Chrastecka, So., LIU Post
Maxime Duijst, Jr., District of Columbia
Madalina Florea, Gr., NYIT
Tina Miller, Jr., Roberts Wesleyan
Robyn Romanoff, Sr., Dowling
Player of the Year: Celia Respaut, Jr., NYIT
Rookie of the Year: Claudia Sanchez Gonzalez, Fr., NYIT
Coach of the Year: Alan Nagel, Queens
About the ECC
Founded as the New York Collegiate Athletic Conference in 1989 and rechristened the East Coast Conference in July 2006, the ECC was formed to enhance intercollegiate athletic competition among member institutions and to assist them in integrating athletics into their academic program in a fiscally sound way. The ECC is committed to the highest standards of scholarship, sportsmanship, teamwork, and citizenship. Its mission is to promote the total person concept in its student-athletes, which stresses the abilities to excel in academic achievement, athletic competition, and positive character traits. East Coast Conference members include: University of Bridgeport (Bridgeport, Conn.); University of the District of Columbia (Washington, D.C.); Daemen College (Amherst, N.Y.); Dowling College (Oakdale, N.Y.); LIU Post (Brookville, N.Y.); Mercy College (Dobbs Ferry, N.Y.); Molloy College (Rockville Centre, N.Y.); New York Institute of Technology (Old Westbury, N.Y.); Queens College (Flushing, N.Y.); Roberts Wesleyan College (Rochester, N.Y.) and St. Thomas Aquinas College (Sparkill, N.Y.). Associate Members include: Chestnut Hill College (Philadelphia, Pa.), Dominican College (Orangeburg, N.Y.), and Georgian Court University (Lakewood, N.J.).

The ECC sponsors the following championship sports: baseball; men's and women's basketball; men's and women's cross country; men's and women's lacrosse; softball; men's and women's tennis; men's and women's indoor track and field; men's and women's outdoor track and field; men's and women's soccer; and women's volleyball. The East Coast Conference is a proud member of the NCAA and Division II. Division II is a dynamic and engaging group of colleges, institutions and conferences of varying sizes and educational missions. Division II members encourage and support diversity; value sportsmanship, fairness and equity; and place the highest priority on the overall educational excellence of the student-athlete.
About NYIT
New York Institute of Technology (NYIT) offers 90 degree programs, including undergraduate, graduate, and professional degrees, in more than 50 fields of study, including architecture and design; arts and sciences; education; engineering and computing sciences; health professions; management; and osteopathic medicine. A non-profit independent, private institution of higher education, NYIT has 13,000 students attending campuses on Long Island and Manhattan, online, and at its global campuses. NYIT sponsors 11 NCAA Division II programs and one Division I team.
Led by President Edward Guiliano, NYIT is guided by its mission to provide career-oriented professional education, offer access to opportunity to all qualified students, and support applications-oriented research that benefits the larger void. To date, 95,000 graduates have received degrees from NYIT. For more information, visit nyit.edu.
Sabrina Polidoro
Sports Information Director
O: 516.686.7504
C: 516.351.7664

View: Mobile | Desktop